Leagues  National Team  Developing Cricket Tour Prague! Clubs About Us  Contact Us FAQ's
Central Europe Cup preview

Kriket Vinoř will play host to its first international tournament on the new improved pitches when Luxembourg, Poland and Switzerland visit from Friday 5th to Sunday 7th September.

The four teams will play a round-robin T20 tournament, with all results counting towards the T20 International European Development Cricket League.

National team manager Dan Casey said: "We're under no illusions - we know this is going to be a difficult test for our guys against some decent teams."

Switzerland have not been part of the ICC for a while due to an internal dispute that has led to a contravention of the ICC rule that there must be one national governing body. "But from prior experience, having played against them in a tri-series in Austria a few years ago, we know they play at a good level," said Casey.

Luxembourg finished 9th in ICC Europe Division 2 in 2012, out-ranking opponents such as Croatia and Malta at the time.

The ICC have subsequently reorganised the divisional structure, which has led to three divisions of six instead of the previous larger divisions, and Luxembourg have been left on the outside.

"These changes are part of the motivation for organising such a tournament - we were in discussions with a lot of teams around Europe, and we noticed that Luxembourg and Switzerland were a bit cut off from the rest of the countries outside the ICC divisions, who tend to be more eastern or southern. So we extended an invite to them, and we're delighted that they have accepted," explained Casey.

Poland are not yet an ICC member but they have done a fantastic job in developing cricket in their country over the past decade, and they reached the semi-final of Hungary's Pan-European T20 Tournament in June 2014, one of a number of impressive recent results.

All four teams have been selected according to ICC eligibility criteria, and it's hoped that impressive performances at tournaments such as these will help all of the participating nations to get back into playing on the official road to the World Cup.

Czech Rep: Vojta Haša (capt), Hilal Ahmad, Honza Corness, Rohit Deshmoyni, Sudhir Gladson, Rajh Gnanatheeswaran, Manjeet Malik, Scott Page, Brigham Smith, Mik Starý, Rahul Subash, Suditha Udugalage

Luxembourg: Anand Pattabiraman, Ben Embleton, Charlie Ramsden, James Barker, Jeff Stone, Joost Mees, Richard Neale, Stuart May, Tim Barker, Tony Whiteman, Wayne Codd, Max Vickers

Poland: Tarun Daluja (capt), Madhup Sharma, Nitesh Sinha, Vineet Sinha, Md.Nowshad Babu, Adnan Ali, Nabeel Akram, Mohit Keswani, Janak Humagain, Kashif Jawed, Faisal Ijaz, Sudheer Suvarna

Switzerland: Afzaal Sikander, Tom Mampilly, Stefan Franklin, Ahmad Shah Daqiqui, Matthew Martin, Prafull Shikare, Ali Saleem, Sajid Safiat, Sahanwaz Muhammad, Usman Ali, Rod Sherrell 

About Us   National Team   Partners  
Follow us :
News Archive
National Team Events

Copyright © 2012-13 - www.czechcricket.cz  |  Website Designed by Dreamz Unlimited s.r.o.